RACE REPORT: Holmestrand Marathon

WhatsApp Image 2017-04-01 at 16.51.43Resurrecting my blog with a race report from my first run with a bib in 2017, the Holmestrand Marathon. This was my first marathon on Norwegian soil in 2016, and my sister gave me the registration for the 2017 edition as a birthday present. Training for this race started in mid-January and with a more busy family situation this year training has not been as good as last years marathon training.

Even though training has not been optimal this year, something happens when you’re at the starting-line with your bib pinned on, adrenaline rises and you’re ready to go. A little unsure of my own fitness-level, my plan was to #gohardorgohome. Our race-plan was do stay at a pace of 4:20/km and see how long I could hold it, maybe all the way? Another inspiration for doing this race was that my sister was also running, her very first marathon, and she did really good finishing in 4:23:49 still going strong all the way until the end.

WhatsApp Image 2017-04-01 at 16.51.41As the race started I headed out running a few seconds faster than planned, but my plan of doing 4:20/km lasted for about 24km, a little past the halfway point of the race. Then my calves came on fire, tremendous pain in both calves gave me no choice but to slow down and jog the last 3 laps of the race. I was prepared for some pain and that I had to push through it, but this was more than I was able to push through. I tried to speed up again at some occasions, but it was just too painful. So the last 15km I enjoyed the nice weather and just did what I had to do to finish the race, crossing the finish-line at 3:24:00 and finishing 16th in the race. Not a bad time or position you might say, and yes it’s OK, but my hopes before the race were to finish maybe around last year’s time of 3:08…

Now it’s time for evaluation with Coach Kevin, learn as much as possible from this experience, rest a little bit and get on with training again as Ecotrail Oslo 80km will be my next race on the 20th of May.

WhatsApp Image 2017-04-01 at 16.51.38


Leave a comment