Running with a purpose

20160521_130722I love to run! Running to me is therapy and I have come to a point where I need to get out there and get some runs in, if not I’ll get grumpy and stressed. As I’ve participated in several races the last few years, I now not only run to feel good or reap the health-benefits from running, but I want to perform as well as I can – I’m running with a purpose! Right now my next goal is an 81km ultra race in Treungen, Norway – called Telemark’s Toughest. Coach Kevin have made the plan, and I’m just about to start week 5 of the training plan to get me ready for the race.

I find there is many analogies between running and living our lives, and I absolutely love the verse we find in Hebrews 12:1 in the Bible: “Let us lay aside every weight, and the sin which so easily ensnares us, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us”. We see how God’s plan for our life is compared to a race, and we need to be running with endurance, with a purpose, so that we can live out that plan or dream. Same thing in training for an ultra race, there’s some hard days where I maybe don’t feel like running, but having my eyes focused on the “race that is set before me” helps me to run with endurance even when not feeling like it. So in life we can learn a lot from the disciplines of running, and in running I can learn a lot from the principles of the Bible. All I know is that both in running and in living, I will commit myself to run the race that is set before me with endurance, so that I can reach that goal and the blessings that come with it.

We just recently moved into a new house here in Norway, and I’m so blessed to have some wonderful trails to run just outside the front door of my house. So I put together a little video of one of the trails that I run, so that you can get a glimpse of my wonderful training facilities.

Leave a Reply

